Speeding Ticket in Alberta

• Last Updated:
  • Nov 1st, 2014 5:13 pm
Jan 13, 2015
1 posts
1 upvote
Madden, AB

Speeding Ticket in Alberta

Hey guys, so over the long weekend I recieved my first speeding ticket in Canmore, Alberta. I was going 126km/h in a 90km/h zone and got a $228 ticket. I am a GDL Driver and am insured with TD. I was driving a friends car at the time. I would like to know how much this will effect my insurance. Also, I got 4 demerits as a result of this.

Thanks!
18 replies
Nov 26, 2012
350 posts
109 upvotes
Calgary
1 speeding ticket should not affect your insurance. More though, and you're screwed.

And before someone says it...

Fight it!
Deal Expert
Feb 24, 2007
15169 posts
2743 upvotes
chconline wrote: 1 speeding ticket should not affect your insurance. More though, and you're screwed.

And before someone says it...

Fight it!
The only thing I would add is, don't use paralegal services as any fine reduction they win, you can do that yourself. chconline advice is bang on the money.
Nov 12, 2012
781 posts
514 upvotes
Calgary
Demerits don't mean anything for insurance rates, however get 4 more demerits on within two years and say hello to a suspended drivers license.

TD may or may not pull a drivers abstract on you when you renew, so it's hard to say if it will affect your rates at all. Usually the first ticket is a freebie, after that they start to jack up your rates.

You can fight the ticket if you want, but the only thing it MAY get you is a reduction in demerits, or lower $ fine. Consider it a speeding tax and chalk it up to a lesson learned (hopefully).
Deal Expert
Aug 2, 2001
18944 posts
10527 upvotes