• Last Updated:
  • Oct 5th, 2016 12:19 am
[OP]
Sep 30, 2016
3 posts

Spot On Consignment

Hello,

I have been directed to this forum by a reddit user where I have a running topic asking for local help:
https://www.reddit.com/r/mississauga/co ... ease_help/

Here's the long story:
I am currently a resident of the States. Cincinnati, Ohio specifically. I contacted a local seller for an iPhone SE via email. Shortly after email contact was made, she informed me that she had gone home to Mississauga, ON but hoped we could still complete the deal. Given my general positive outlook on peoples morals, and the fact that I was genuinely interested in the phone she was selling, I decided to proceed with the deal.

The seller suggested an escrow service, because while I was willing to try, I'm smart enough to at least take some caution in internet dealings and I insisted that I have a chance to test the phone on my service provider before exchanging money. Her solution was an escrow company called "Spot On Consignment." Considering all of our dealings had been very friendly, candid, and with well crafted English, and the site looked fairly legit, I decided to continue with her suggestion.

After agreeing, a few days later I received a very detailed and official looking invoice describing the item being sold, and specific instruction on payment arrangements. Our agents name appeared to be... possibly Romanian, and I was surprised to see the wire transfer destination as the UK. These were my first red flags outside of a basic buyers paranoia. I had my girlfriend take a look at it for a second opinion, and while she found it questionable everything looked pretty legit to her, too. Upon further research, I found the company also had a location in the UK. At the time, that made me feel a little more comfortable, but now I am thinking that maybe they are just running the same scam over seas.