Ongoing Deal Discussion

[Amazon Canada] Students: Free Amazon Prime for 6 months

• Last Updated:
  • Jun 29th, 2018 12:20 am
Jun 14, 2011
537 posts
161 upvotes
Montreal
Do you keep the 50 % off Prime forever after?
Deal Expert
May 22, 2005
19006 posts
4113 upvotes
Thornhill
I've been a student prime member at 39$ for years, you get all the benefits for a regular Prime membership (20% video game preorders, 20% off Amazon basics items, Canadian prime video,twitch prime membership).

The only thing you don't get with student membership of prime is the Amazon Family perks, which is 20% off diapers and other family perks (I don't know what this means).

Edit: I was not a student when I signed up for student, I just needed access to my school email.
Deal Addict
Mar 29, 2009
1069 posts
222 upvotes
Derick wrote:
Apr 25th, 2017 9:45 am
The page says amazon video is not available to trial period customers. Is there an option to just pay for 18 months if not in quebec.
When I look at regular prime it advertises amazon video as a perk, the student version does not.

First I need to see if I can download the app to my PS4 or it is moot anyways :P
Dec 4, 2008
959 posts
481 upvotes
I'm confused, this deal has always been around. Prime student has always been 6 months free with $39 renewal afterwards.
Jun 9, 2015
11 posts
32 upvotes
Ottawa
I think if you're on the student 6 months trial you don't have Amazon video but if you're paying the $39 subscription then you do have access to video
Jan 27, 2007
710 posts
165 upvotes
Calgary
sports1 wrote:
Apr 25th, 2017 9:52 am
I'm confused, this deal has always been around. Prime student has always been 6 months free with $39 renewal afterwards.
Agreed, I have this for about 2 yrs now..not sure what's all this about now
Deal Guru
Jun 29, 2004
10469 posts
5407 upvotes
Oil Country
Yup... this deal has been around ever since Amazon started offering Student Prime. I've had Student Prime for about three years now.
Deal Fanatic
Nov 23, 2005