Summer camping with kids

• Last Updated:
  • May 18th, 2017 12:21 pm
[OP]
Jun 23, 2006
298 posts
93 upvotes

Summer camping with kids

Hi all, we are total newbies to camping culture but would like to learn to camp with our kids 3 & 5 yrs old. We could borrow a bunch of gear from friends but I would like to ask for your advice about kids' sleeping bags. What differentiates between the Sportchek/Cdn Tire/walmart bag ($30) vs ones from MEC ($75) if the temperature rating (5 degrees Celsius) is the same? Polyester fill, comes with its own packing sack. We figured rectangular shape would be roomier for them instead of mummy style. We would be using it for mild summer camping, cabins at first, maybe car camping, maybe tents if we ever graduate to be more adventurous. Would it also suffice for elementary school/scouts camping trips? I want to make sure it's decent enough quality so they would enjoy the outdoors and wouldn't be cold and miserable. It would be nice if it could be used for the next few years. Do kids need therma rest pads to go underneath too? Thanks.
6 replies
Jan 8, 2009
626 posts
274 upvotes
GTA
Someone else can probably help you better with the sleeping bag question but I thought I'd mention the following.

I don't know where you are or how quickly these fill up but MEC (in concert with Parks Canada) offers these great "learn to camp" sessions that are fairly inexpensive and they'll teach you all the basics: http://www.pc.gc.ca/en/serapprocher-con ... /ltc-dlc08

They provide the tents, sleeping pads, dinner and breakfast and teach you how to pitch a tent, build a campfire, camp cooking and camping safety. I don't see the pricing listed but they're usually fairly reasonable.
Jan 2, 2015
960 posts
357 upvotes
We are in the process of taking our kids car tent camping this summer as a family, but my kids have been camping for a while with Giril guides.

Here's some random answers.