• Jan 19th, 2015 6:53 pm
Tags:
None
Deal Expert
Oct 9, 2003
18046 posts
980 upvotes

Surface owners, talk to me

I am super interested in the Surface Pro 3. It seems like excellent technology but does it work for students well? I would be replacing my Macbook Air and My iPad with it.

My questions are these:

I am a student, i want to use it to take notes and to write directly on digital slides. I have seen my professors doing this in the past but want to know if it is easy to do, this is something I am really interested in.

I would be buying the keyboard as well but the pen is what really interests me, how long is the battery life and does it really work with lot of apps?

What apps would you suggest?

How does the HDMI work on it? I know that it requires a dongle.

What else does a person "think" it will do that it actually doesn't?

What are your major disappointments with the units? What do you want it to do?

Surface 4, should I wait?

Battery life? I have read reviews but I want real world discussion

Does it integrate well with OneDrive? I have a one drive account with 1 TB of storage so this is important to me.

Please, if there is something else here I should know let me know. I am coming from windows 7 and OS X.

Thanks in advance!
15 replies
Deal Addict
Apr 15, 2004
1603 posts
149 upvotes
Toronto
windows 8.1 has one drive.... when u start any new windows 8 laptop it will ask you for your hotmail skydrive username and pass

best note taking app would be one note? it has pen input also
Deal Addict
Aug 13, 2012
3282 posts
1046 upvotes
Toronto
I have surface pro 1, bought it last year for taking notes. Best purchase I've ever made. If you have classes that require you to do some writing, drawing, etc then SP is the best option because of the palm rejection and pressure sensitivity.
1. I made an extra power saving option and now it can hold 4.5 hours of taking notes (with screen brightness at around 1/4 and no wifi). SP3's battery life should be much better.