Parenting & Family

Swiss Chalet last night- whole family on devices, thoughts?

• Last Updated:
  • Feb 7th, 2018 12:08 am
Deal Expert
Apr 16, 2002
26166 posts
39569 upvotes
Toronto

Swiss Chalet last night- whole family on devices, thoughts?

Made me so sad. Went to Swiss Chalet with my mom and my kids to celebrate daughter's 6th birthday.

Table behind us was a mom with 3 kids (approximate ages 6-10). All of them, mom included, were on devices right until food arrived. Her on phone, kids all on ipads.

I work in tech and still believe it is important to limit screen time. Having family discussion is crucial for bonding and hearing about the other person's day.

What do other people here think?
Cars ruin cities
Cars ruin cities
Cars ruin cities
37 replies
Dec 30, 2005
150 posts
85 upvotes
Toronto
I dunno man, if I had to watch three kids alone I wouldn't want some stranger judging the 15 minutes of quiet time I manufactured for myself before I have to get them to eat their vegetables that I'm paying for.
Banned
Jun 8, 2008
3977 posts
1423 upvotes
Toronto
We've done this before when we've been travelling and have access to wifi for the first time :) As a rule, nope nope nope.
Deal Addict
Dec 27, 2013
3731 posts
1526 upvotes
Woodbridge
On the one hand, the idea that people are glued to their screens rather than engaging in face-to-face conversation feels off. On the other hand, I try not to jump to conclusions or pass judgement on others based on my feelings without any research or evidence that their actions are actually causing some measurable damage.
Deal Expert
Aug 26, 2002
15684 posts
7397 upvotes
Toronto, ON
I wholeheartedly agree. And it's not just kids... Often we see couples or groups of friends at a table and each of them are on their own cellphones.
Deal Guru
Mar 23, 2008
13006 posts
10008 upvotes
Edmonton