Careers

Switching from QC govt to Federal - retirement plan implications?

• Last Updated:
  • Dec 30th, 2015 11:45 pm
Tags:
None
Oct 16, 2015
394 posts
233 upvotes
Quebec

Switching from QC govt to Federal - retirement plan implications?

I'm seriously looking at a career move from the Quebec public sector over to the federal side. This would be for unionized positions (technician level, not management). I have been working for the Quebec govt for just over 10 years, I have a permanent position but I see my career prospects as limited, mismanagement is rife, salaries are nothing special and the working conditions protect the lazy and don't reward competence. (And as an anglo I get no credit for my bilingualism.)

Where would I get information about the implications for retirement if I were to switch to a (unionized) job with the federal government? My provincial contributions would stop at 10 years, would I be at a severe disadvantage if I moved to the federal side for, say, 20 years before retirement? Are there advisers who can help me with this? Who should I be consulting?

Thanks for any insight!
5 replies
Deal Addict
Oct 16, 2008
4731 posts
2788 upvotes
http://www.tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca/remunerati ... s-eng.html

This would be a good place to start.
I see my career prospects as limited, mismanagement is rife, salaries are nothing special and the working conditions protect the lazy and don't reward competence.
I don't know if switching to federal would be your remedy. I heard a lot of government jobs are like this.
Oct 16, 2015
394 posts
233 upvotes
Quebec
ilove wrote: http://www.tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca/remunerati ... s-eng.html

This would be a good place to start.

I don't know if switching to federal would be your remedy. I heard a lot of government jobs are like this.
Thanks for your reply, it's appreciated. Unfortunately your link seems to have been truncated somewhere (it gives a 404 not-found error) and I can't work out exactly what page it refers to.