Careers

Tax preparation clinic vs CVITP (Community Volunteer Income Tax Program )

• Last Updated:
  • Apr 5th, 2017 12:39 pm
[OP]
May 3, 2016
335 posts
24 upvotes

Tax preparation clinic vs CVITP (Community Volunteer Income Tax Program )

What's the difference between the two?

I won't be available until late March, is it too late for the tax season? I have some knowledge of income tax but certainly needs training to help prepare others tax returns.

If I'm too late for this tax season, when should I start to sign up for next year's?
5 replies
Feb 27, 2007
336 posts
127 upvotes
Montreal
Only see your post today. For next year:

1. "Tax preparation clinic" can be a generic term. CVITP is an abbreviation for a specific government volunteer program.
2. If u register as volunteer directly with government, government require 1 or 2 days per week for all weeks in March and April. However, if u look for organization yourself, u can negotiate # of days that u will work. Your schedule of working April only could be acceptable to some organizations.

Registration as CVITP volunteer for TY2016 was from ?/10/16 to 19/1/17. Training was from early Feb to mid March. Next year, u can call government co-ordinator directly, phone # in tax guide or google (work 1-2 days/week for 2 months). Else, u better google now to check for organizations near u, get in touch with them and register as volunteer through them next year. Have fun!
[OP]
May 3, 2016
335 posts
24 upvotes
Thank you for your information.

Is the training at this volunteer program good and can help me get a part time tax preparer position (if that is an option), say after a few years of volunteering? I'm not in the tax field, thought about taking the H&R block course but didn't. However, I'd love to be a volunteer first and get the free training.
Deal Addict
May 23, 2010
1754 posts
258 upvotes
wyho007 wrote: Thank you for your information.