Personal Finance

Tax time! I'm a public accountant, so ask me, I'll try to respond frequently

• Last Updated:
  • Oct 11th, 2019 7:45 pm
May 10, 2018
2 posts
I'm sorry that I didn't write correctly enough in my previous post. I live in Ontario, and my husband lives abroad and transfers money from abroad. Since I and he became a permanent resident and tax residents this year, we've filled out the Canadian tax declarations. My declaration is zero (I go to language courses), and my husband has overseas income. He pays Canadian taxes to this income (our country has a tax treatment with Canada) and sends money to my account in a Canadian bank. What is the best way to specify the purpose of payment in order to avoid double taxation since this is not my income and my husband has already paid taxes in Canada to this income? Family support or personal funds?
Deal Addict
Aug 30, 2011
3311 posts
1034 upvotes
Ottawa
Genia28 wrote:
May 12th, 2018 10:24 am
I'm sorry that I didn't write correctly enough in my previous post. I live in Ontario, and my husband lives abroad and transfers money from abroad. Since I and he became a permanent resident and tax residents this year, we've filled out the Canadian tax declarations. My declaration is zero (I go to language courses), and my husband has overseas income. He pays Canadian taxes to this income (our country has a tax treatment with Canada) and sends money to my account in a Canadian bank. What is the best way to specify the purpose of payment in order to avoid double taxation since this is not my income and my husband has already paid taxes in Canada to this income? Family support or personal funds?
Either is fine. You may have to provide more information if FINTRAC asks.
Penalty Box
Mar 10, 2018
2884 posts
218 upvotes
Genia28 wrote:
May 12th, 2018 10:24 am
check you that country is on this list. If it is no problems.

https://www.fin.gc.ca/treaties-conventi ... e--eng.asp