Tax time! I'm a public accountant, so ask me, I'll try to respond frequently

• Last Updated:
  • Oct 11th, 2019 7:45 pm
Apr 1, 2009
115 posts
27 upvotes
Hello,

Rental property tax question.

I know that if i claim CCA on the property there would be a clawback upon disposition and so I have not ever claimed CCA on the property.

But, if I claim CCA on other items (appliances, wood fence/deck, etc) is there any clawback when selling a property down the line or are we allowed to claim proper CCA allowances on these items without any repurcussions of sale in the future.

Thanks.
Deal Addict
Aug 30, 2011
3299 posts
1026 upvotes
Ottawa
maxme09 wrote:
Nov 28th, 2018 5:38 pm
I am self employed sole proprietor and I did not have tax deductions on my pay for the year. I want to pay tax the for 2018 so that I do not go on tax installment next year.
https://www.canada.ca/en/revenue-agency ... nking.html
above list 3 ways to pay. Which one should I opt to pay for current year (2018)? Or I should just wait till I file the return?
In case you don't realize... you can't just pay what you owe to avoid paying by instalments. If you meet the requirement to pay by instalments https://www.canada.ca/en/revenue-agency ... ments.html then pre-paying your taxes payable in a lump sum will cost you instalment interest.
Oct 13, 2015
81 posts
41 upvotes
Brampton, ON
OttawaGardener wrote:
Nov 29th, 2018 12:59 pm
In case you don't realize... you can't just pay what you owe to avoid paying by instalments. If you meet the requirement to pay by instalments https://www.canada.ca/en/revenue-agency ... ments.html then pre-paying your taxes payable in a lump sum will cost you instalment interest.
I am not on tax installment yet. I am trying to avoid being on it.
"If you earn income that has no tax withheld or does not have enough tax withheld for more than one year, you may have to pay tax by instalments."
It's not more than a year for me yet.
Deal Addict
Aug 30, 2011
3299 posts
1026 upvotes
Ottawa