Tax time! I'm a public accountant, so ask me, I'll try to respond frequently

• Last Updated:
  • Oct 11th, 2019 7:45 pm
Nov 30, 2011
953 posts
357 upvotes
GTA
Question about Moving Expenses.
My 2017 T1-M has a carry-forward on line 24.
Where do I put that amount on my 2018 Tax Return?
Nov 20, 2015
2 posts
Burlington, ON
Hi Everyone,

I will start off by admitting that I haven’t consulted with a tax professional yet. I will definitely do so, however wanted to check in here to see if I was missing something…

I am looking to use RRSP contributions to lower my taxable income (Line 236) of mine and my wife’s tax returns in order to (hopefully) do the following:
1. Build a retirement portfolio;
2. Lower the taxes we pay;
3. Qualify for Child Care Subsidy, and;
4. Increase Child Benefits.

Our situation is as follows:
She - currently on EI (mat leave) making the maximum amount, roughly 25k/year (net)
Me - Working full time making roughly 80k/year (gross)
Child 1 - 18 months old and in full time daycare costing approx. $1500.00/month.
Child 2 - Due in February 2019

2017 Net income (Line 236)
She - roughly $40k
Me - roughly $62k

2018 RRSP deduction limit
She - roughly $57k
Me - roughly $44k

2017 Child Benefits (one child)
$235/month.

2018 child benefits (two children)
Expecting to be approximately $500/month.
https://www.canada.ca/en/revenue-agency ... lator.html

Now that we have that out of the way, if I were to make a 60k (total) lump sum contribution to our RRSP accounts by way of an RRSP loan, I have calculated the following:

Child Benefits with two kids: $940.10
Ontario child benefit monthly amount - $89.12
GST/HST credit quarterly amount - $139.67
Ontario trillium benefit monthly amount - $78.60
Ontario energy and property tax credit monthly amount - $25.53
Ontario sales tax credit monthly amount - $53.07

Total Benefits = $13,852.52/year
RRSP Refund = $15,391
Daycare Subsidy received would be roughly $15,399.96