Tax time! I'm a public accountant, so ask me, I'll try to respond frequently

• Last Updated:
  • Oct 11th, 2019 7:45 pm
Feb 13, 2011
255 posts
28 upvotes
don242 wrote:
Feb 9th, 2019 2:48 pm
You report contributions to a spousal RRSP. It is deducted from your income and uses your contribution space.
Great, thank you very much.
Feb 7, 2019
62 posts
19 upvotes
My income level is $40K, but I made $3K from bank interest. I've been told that it's not beneficial for to contribute to RRSP if you are making very less. Is that true? I've been contributing in the last 10 year even though I am earning less than $35K. I don't see my income going up in the near future so am I better off not contributing at all?
Penalty Box
Mar 10, 2018
2860 posts
204 upvotes
sushislut604 wrote:
Feb 10th, 2019 8:44 pm
My income level is $40K, but I made $3K from bank interest. I've been told that it's not beneficial for to contribute to RRSP if you are making very less. Is that true? I've been contributing in the last 10 year even though I am earning less than $35K. I don't see my income going up in the near future so am I better off not contributing at all?
man you have some serious dough to have 3K from Interest. Low income always full TFSA first. Then think RRSP.
I dont care about Ethics, morals, rules or laws. I will apologies only when I get caught.
I try not to apologies but sometimes do it. not because its right thing but it benefits me.
May 28, 2007
797 posts
224 upvotes
callernamet wrote:
Feb 10th, 2019 8:53 pm
man you have some serious dough to have 3K from Interest. Low income always full TFSA first. Then think RRSP.
What about RRSP and then taking the tax refund to go into TFSA.
Deal Addict
Feb 1, 2006
2594 posts
655 upvotes
Ontario
Quick question about any taxation implications of converting between different classes of a company's common stock.