Personal Finance

Tax time! I'm a public accountant, so ask me, I'll try to respond frequently

• Last Updated:
  • Dec 13th, 2017 8:37 pm
Jul 22, 2015
305 posts
60 upvotes
Kitchener, ON
I need to file by paper since I tried to file electronically and am getting the error message "File Rejected". What pages do I need to print off? My options are (1) all pages including diagnostics, (2) Federal tax return only, or (3) selected pages - and what are they?

TIA
Apr 29, 2012
271 posts
131 upvotes
Toronto
If you are still monitoring this thread I would appreciate some advice. Doing some work that involves a vulnerable security scan. I paid for the scan myself and my employer later reimbursed me. There was a separate line item on my pay stub titled “expenses” and it went towards my total gross pay. Does this mean I’ll be taxed in this extra income? Is there a way I can get this expense deducted since it is not actual income to me?
Thank you.
Last edited by rfduser199 on May 6th, 2017 2:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Aug 13, 2004
352 posts
19 upvotes
Toronto
Thanks in advance - I'm wondering about this example:

Account #1 = RRSP w/ available contribution room: $15,000
Account #2 = RRIF

Would it ever make sense to withdraw from the RRIF (account#2) and contribute to the RRSP (the full $15,000 of room) in the same year in order to maximize the RRSP before age 71 assuming the person isn't going to work anymore? or is this question way more complicated?

Thanks!!
Deal Addict
Apr 18, 2012
1145 posts
57 upvotes
Menthol wrote:
May 6th, 2017 10:02 pm
Can you claim internet Cable as a utility if you are providing that in the rental agreement?
TIA
yes
Jul 22, 2015
305 posts
60 upvotes
Kitchener, ON
If you submit a paper copy of your taxes to CRA, do you also have to provide copies of the T4 and medical receipts? I can't file electronically due to an error.
Deal Addict
Jun 12, 2015
1808 posts
489 upvotes
Ontario
Acheewawa wrote:
May 7th, 2017 11:59 am