Personal Finance

Tax time! I'm a public accountant, so ask me, I'll try to respond frequently

• Last Updated:
  • Dec 13th, 2017 8:37 pm
Aug 13, 2004
352 posts
19 upvotes
Toronto
Thanks everyone - with your comments I looked into it more and it doesn't really make sense to do what I said -

Contributing to the room leftover in the RRSP appears to only have a tax benefit if there is additional "earned" income (RRIF income is not considered earned)... so only the stuff below would allow the person to use the room and get a tax benefit (....I think at least!)

Deal Addict
Apr 20, 2012
1137 posts
334 upvotes
Waterloo, ON
My wife and I filed our returns and I got money put into my account, and she paid what she owed at the bank, but we haven't gotten anything at all in the mail. Shouldn't we be getting something by now?
Jan 19, 2017
484 posts
128 upvotes
Blanche123 wrote:
May 8th, 2017 9:58 am
Do you mean OAS rather than GIS?
OAS is not income tested. Only claw back if your income is too high. GIS is income tested,
Aug 13, 2004
352 posts
19 upvotes
Toronto
brobinsoncc wrote:
May 8th, 2017 4:14 pm
My wife and I filed our returns and I got money put into my account, and she paid what she owed at the bank, but we haven't gotten anything at all in the mail. Shouldn't we be getting something by now?
Did you check CRA my account? http://www.cra-arc.gc.ca/myaccount/
Deal Fanatic
Nov 19, 2004
7220 posts
993 upvotes
Cambridge, ON
rb wrote:
May 8th, 2017 8:36 pm
I have the option to work from home ( salaried employee) what are the tax benefits I can claim ? Thanks OP
Assuming you meet the criteria, you can deduct the part of your costs that relates to your work space, such as the cost of electricity, heating, and maintenance. However, you cannot deduct mortgage interest, property taxes, home insurance, or capital cost allowance.

http://www.cra-arc.gc.ca/tx/ndvdls/tpcs ... c-eng.html
Deal Addict
Jan 28, 2014
2952 posts
438 upvotes
ml88888888 wrote:
May 8th, 2017 5:30 pm