Personal Finance

Tax time! I'm a public accountant, so ask me, I'll try to respond frequently

• Last Updated:
  • Dec 13th, 2017 8:37 pm
May 10, 2017
5 posts
Hello, I filed 2015 and 2016 taxes with H&R block and choose to pay via tax refund direct deposit.
On CRA My Account it showed 2 assessed deposits each over $1k. May 9th and 11th.
I also got an email notification from H&R block that they received my payment, but have not yet received anything in my TD bank account.
Is H&R block holding my deposits before redirecting to my bank account?
How long should I expect to wait for a deposit into my bank account?
Deal Addict
Nov 2, 2013
4866 posts
937 upvotes
Edmonton, AB
When filling out the TD1, on the second page there's the checkbox for:
Check this box if your total income for the year from all employers and payers will be less than your total claim amount on line 13. Your employer or
payer will not deduct tax from your earnings.
I only work for this employer for a portion of the year and can't predict my employment income for the year. Rest of the year I work through my incorporated business and plan to pay myself dividends at year end.
- So am I OK to check this box?
- If I do not pay myself at all and just leave the cash in the corporation, can I still check that box?
- If I do end up earning more than whatever Line 13 says, would Payroll just make me fill out a new form or start deducting taxes?
Feb 20, 2009
38 posts
Toronto