Personal Finance

Tax time! I'm a public accountant, so ask me, I'll try to respond frequently

• Last Updated:
  • Dec 13th, 2017 8:37 pm
Jun 23, 2010
163 posts
50 upvotes
North York
I arranged to "Request to Reduce Tax Deductions at Source" (T1213, https://www.canada.ca/en/revenue-agency ... t1213.html) with my employer, but was unaware until this month that my bonus for this year will now be paid in January of the next year. Last year they paid in December of the same year, so I wrongfully assumed it will be the same for this year.

My RRSP limit will be lower than I expect for 2018, so this will result in over contributing RRSP during 2018. What are my options?

Thanks!
Deal Fanatic
Nov 19, 2004
7220 posts
993 upvotes
Cambridge, ON
nonfatalexec wrote:
Dec 6th, 2017 5:05 pm
I arranged to "Request to Reduce Tax Deductions at Source" (T1213, https://www.canada.ca/en/revenue-agency ... t1213.html) with my employer, but was unaware until this month that my bonus for this year will now be paid in January of the next year. Last year they paid in December of the same year, so I wrongfully assumed it will be the same for this year.

My RRSP limit will be lower than I expect for 2018, so this will result in over contributing RRSP during 2018. What are my options?

Thanks!
What are you asking? How to avoid over contributing in 2018? The answer seems simple enough. Is there some reason you can't control how much you are going to contribute in the future?
Jun 23, 2010
163 posts
50 upvotes
North York
don242 wrote:
Dec 6th, 2017 5:32 pm
What are you asking? How to avoid over contributing in 2018? The answer seems simple enough. Is there some reason you can't control how much you are going to contribute in the future?
I understood my problem incorrectly. I'll be underpayment taxes deducted at source as a result of overstating my RRSP contribution. I'll obviously adjust my RRSP after learning that my bonus for this year is paid in January of next year. What are my options?