Personal Finance

Tax time! I'm a public accountant, so ask me, I'll try to respond frequently

• Last Updated:
  • May 13th, 2018 12:33 pm
Jul 24, 2015
37 posts
21 upvotes
Maple, ON
How do TFSA accounts which have suffered a loss work?

Say I invested $10,000 in an equity through a TFSA account and the current market value is $7500. Can I "top up" the account, aka add another $2500 in cash to the TFSA account.

How does this impact my contribution room? Ex. Assume I have contributed the yearly maximum every year.

Thanks for your insight!
Deal Addict
Jan 2, 2015
1239 posts
324 upvotes
Toronto, ON
cftw123 wrote:
Dec 10th, 2017 2:44 pm
The CRA only cares about what you contribute and withdraw, not how much you made or lost (unless they think you've been daytrading).
Say I invested $10,000 in an equity through a TFSA account and the current market value is $7500. Can I "top up" the account, aka add another $2500 in cash to the TFSA account.
You would not gain any new room. You lose room when you contribute, and you gain room when you withdraw (but the following year).

So in this example, if contributed $10,000, you lose $10,000 of room. You lose $2,500. You ragequit and withdraw $7,500. You only gain 7,500 of room the next year, so you would permanently reduce available room by doing this. You're better off either waiting for the market to go up, or if that won't happen (for instance, you invested in a single stock) then you could sell the equities within the TFSA (so it's now $7,500 in cash but still within a TFSA) and use that cash to buy other equities, still under the TFSA umbrella. These kinds of transfers have no impact on your TFSA room.
Deal Addict
Jun 12, 2015
1988 posts
591 upvotes
Ontario
cftw123 wrote:

How does this impact my contribution room? Ex. Assume I have contributed the yearly maximum every year.

Thanks for your insight!