Personal Finance

Tax time! I'm a public accountant, so ask me, I'll try to respond frequently

• Last Updated:
  • May 13th, 2018 12:33 pm
Jan 13, 2011
33 posts
5 upvotes
Scarborough
I did something really stupid and over contributed to my TSFA. What happened was I made 2016 year end withdrawal on one of my accounts with the intention of depositing the money back again the next year at a different institution. But I didn't realize the trades settled in 2017, which I'm guessing means the withdrawal would have occurred in 2017 and not 2016. I didn't notice until an entire year later when I was checking how much I can deposit into my TSFA for 2018. The total over contribution amounted to $10,000 and at 1% penalty each month, it's a $1200 fee for the year. Any way I can reduce this penalty? I haven't received any notices or bills from the CRA yet about my over contribution but I'm guessing it'll be coming sometime in the future?
Deal Fanatic
Apr 29, 2008
5931 posts
1626 upvotes
Montreal
exsen wrote:
Jan 5th, 2018 12:01 pm
I did something really stupid and over contributed to my TSFA. What happened was I made 2016 year end withdrawal on one of my accounts with the intention of depositing the money back again the next year at a different institution. But I didn't realize the trades settled in 2017, which I'm guessing means the withdrawal would have occurred in 2017 and not 2016. I didn't notice until an entire year later when I was checking how much I can deposit into my TSFA for 2018. The total over contribution amounted to $10,000 and at 1% penalty each month, it's a $1200 fee for the year. Any way I can reduce this penalty? I haven't received any notices or bills from the CRA yet about my over contribution but I'm guessing it'll be coming sometime in the future?
You can try asking for a waiver.
It can help to contact them before they contact you.
http://www.moneysense.ca/columns/apply- ... penalties/