Tax time! I'm a public accountant, so ask me, I'll try to respond frequently

• Last Updated:
  • Sep 11th, 2018 12:40 pm
Deal Addict
Dec 24, 2005
2112 posts
2649 upvotes
Toronto
Is JamesCPA (OP) still answering questions on this thread? I don't see a response from him since 2016. I'll ask my question anyway, hopefully someone else here can help:

I have a rental property that is need of new windows, which is going to cost upwards of $15k. I'd like to use money from an existing loan (a HELOC on my principal residence) to pay for the windows, then use the interest paid as a tax deduction on the rental income. Does the CRA allow using any loan interest to be used as a tax deduction, i.e. in this case the loan is a HELOC from my principal residence but not from my rental property, or does it have to be a loan that's leveraged on the rental property itself, i.e. do I have to get a HELOC on my rental property?
Nothing to see here folks...
Dec 7, 2006
446 posts
82 upvotes
Toronto
My wife and I have never filed our taxes together (no particular reason, we just never waited for the other to file and do it ourselves). My understanding is that the primary benefit is the ability to maximize a return if there is a primary "breadwinner". Are there any benefits to filing together if we both make a similar (high) income?

Thanks!
Jan 18, 2017
81 posts
51 upvotes
The breakdown of the yearly distributions will be detailed on the annual T3 you receive. For example, assuming that for the period Jan-Dec/17 you received $100/mo for that period, you'll get a T3 in Feb/18-ish that shows you received $1,200 total for the 2017 year, and of that $1,200 received, $600 was interest, $400 was eligible dividends, $100 was capital gains dividends, and $100 was foreign income.

Every year the T3 will detail the specific income "blend" that made up the monthly payments made to you.
porticoman wrote:
Jan 19th, 2018 4:21 pm
Thank you