Personal Finance

Tax time! I'm a public accountant, so ask me, I'll try to respond frequently

• Last Updated:
  • Sep 11th, 2018 12:40 pm
Jan 17, 2011
6 posts
Montreal
@ JamesCPA

Need advice : I currently earn 100% commission income from my employer. In order to pay less source deductions my employer has suggested that I invoice him with a GST/PST # and by doing so he could pay me without any source deductions.

I currently have a ton of employment expenses that I am able to claim against my earnings with supporting documents from my employer (T2200, T777 etc.)

Firstly, Should I incorporate or can I simply get a Quebec business number & register for PST/GST?

Secondly, How to go about remitting preemptive payroll taxes or can I simply wait until end of year to remit?

Basically need advice on best structure to enhance cash flow during the year without paying mad taxes up front through my employer.

P.S. I already max out my RRSP and earn more than needed to fund my expenses and RRSP's
Feb 17, 2013
23 posts
KELOWNA
Hi there, thanks in advance for your help!

Does the CRA automatically get send T2202A forms from Universities? Specifically UBC?
Deal Addict
Aug 30, 2011
2984 posts
764 upvotes
Ottawa
92coreilly wrote:
Feb 10th, 2018 3:57 am
Hi there, thanks in advance for your help!

Does the CRA automatically get send T2202A forms from Universities? Specifically UBC?
No, CRA does not get a copy of the T2202a.
Nov 30, 2006
162 posts
32 upvotes
I closed on our first home in late 2017. I am common law living with my fiance, who is a full time student.

We were going to use the credit, however, we do not have any room left on our returns.

I was the only one that worked in 2017, and with all my credits , my 81K gross turned into 31K taxable, so I am getting all my taxes paid back, 15.5K.

I will be carrying over all her student tuition expenses, as she will start working this April, and can claim it next year.