Tags:
None
Apr 18, 2012
8 posts
NORTH YORK

** TD Credit Card increase offer. Don't know what to do! **

Hey everyone,

I hope somebody can help me on the following situation:

TD bank has offered me a credit card limit increase of $4,000, valid until 1 May. My current limit is $1,000 and I'm their customer for almost two years. I have no late payments, no other credit cards and also a very good credit score.

My goal is to build credit over time. I'm new in Canada (2 years) and want to start my own small business in the near future.

I would like to know whether I should accept the limit increase to $5,000 or get another credit card instead with a different financial institution, e.g. CIBC, BMO, PC Financial (all Master Card) or maybe others. I really don't need a $5,000 limit. A max. $3,000 limit would work for me.

Also, my bank has added an overdraft of $500 to my checking account by themselves (I didn't ask for it).

--> Does a higher credit card limit build my credit score up?
--> Will another credit card build my score up?
--> Should I accept the offer from TD?

I hope the information given is sufficient. Looking forward for your replies and suggestions.
Thx.
15 replies
Dec 16, 2007
31 posts
30 upvotes
ottawa
Accept the increase, it will improve your credit score since your credit to debt ratio will be smaller.
Apr 12, 2006
414 posts
96 upvotes
harbor81 wrote: Accept the increase, it will improve your credit score since your credit to debt ratio will be smaller.

+1

It'll help reduce your TDS ratio.
Deal Addict
Mar 23, 2011
2207 posts
1398 upvotes
Etobicoke
Accept it, as long as you don't abuse it, a high limit isn't a bad thing.
-----------------------------------------------------

"It's better to be dead and cool...than alive and uncool!"
Banned
Feb 15, 2008
26318 posts
3242 upvotes
Calgary
I agree, accept it, although that doesn't mean that you should ever really use the card for anything but extremely short term (ie: until your bill comes due) credit.