Investing

Is TD Direct Investing the Best Online Broker?

• Last Updated:
  • Mar 14th, 2020 11:56 am
Feb 17, 2012
660 posts
131 upvotes
Toronto
Are some of you still complaining about ECN fees? Easily avoidable.
Feb 5, 2017
910 posts
913 upvotes
I love TD DI. no fees whatsoever since I have a ton of assets in there. Very fast to answer any questions on the phone. Free money was given when they had web problems at beginning of year. Fair price for trades. Cool and easy to navigate plateform. They paid the fees for transferring a few assets I had in other banks. And more importatntly, I know that my money is safe over there. TD and RY will still be there when I'll die in half a century.
Deal Addict
Nov 6, 2015
3026 posts
2227 upvotes
Calgary
I've been using Interactive Brokers for over 10 years. Cheap and highly reliable (I've never faced an outage).
One thing I really like is being able to buy stocks in various currencies without having to convert funds first (IB creates a margin loan in XYZ currency to fund the trade)
Added benefit of being able to convert fx at mid-market rates as @georvu mentioned.
Apr 22, 2014
116 posts
39 upvotes
ottawa