• Jun 11th, 2009 6:03 pm
Tags:
None
[OP]
May 4, 2009
15 posts

TD Infinite vs RBC Avion Infinite vs CIBC Aerogold Infinite vs Starwood MBNA

Hey everybody,

I've been using the same vancity credit card for nearly 6 years.. since I graduated - I now have a **** load of points to find out vancity rewards are really not that good.. so i need to make the jump to one of the new infinite travel cards on the market.

To profile myself:

- good credit / earn > 60k
- want benefits travel related - i do most of my traveling within North America
- i'll probably only be spending approx 12,000 annually on the credit card

Can someone please tell me the key differences between the infinte travel cards between RBC, CIBC and TD - i don't bank with any of them so there is absolutely no bias.

Secondly, based on my spending profile vs annual fee perspective does it make sense for me to get a 120/year fee card with only spending 12k annually? If it doesn't the Starwood MBNA is my contingency plan.

Lastly! Does anyone know if you can convert Vancity Member points to any form of airline credit or point system?

Thanks in advance everyone, im sure everyone will benefit from this!
32 replies
Mar 27, 2009
264 posts
46 upvotes
Seems to me like you're spending too little to make any of these cards worthwhile.

I have a Citizens Bank Visa, and it seems to me that the Travel Rewards redemption option is the exact same as the TD Travel Rewards for my TD visa Infinite.

As far as I understand it, the RBC Avion's best feature is being able to transfer points over to British Airways when theirs a special promotion. Don't know how easy it would be to use those points to fly within North America afterwards, but it may be a bit of a a waste.

The CIBC Aerogold is Aeroplan. Not much more to say.