Investing

TD TFSA/GIC $100 offer - worth it for beginner?

• Last Updated:
  • Jan 10th, 2020 10:28 am
[OP]
Dec 13, 2012
59 posts
29 upvotes
Toronto

TD TFSA/GIC $100 offer - worth it for beginner?

Hi folks, newbie question here.

TD's offer is $100 for opening a new TFSA and investing $1000 in a 1-year non-cashable GIC.

Is it worth it? As far as I understand you can't touch the 1k for a year, is that right? I have very little experience with investing and hoping for some of your feedback.

Thanks in advance!
9 replies
Deal Fanatic
Jul 1, 2007
8341 posts
1336 upvotes
Looks like a 10% return plus whatever the GIC pays. Is $100 worth all the effort though? What use is a TFSA that can only invest in cash and GICs?
Money Smarts Blog wrote: I agree with the previous posters, especially Thalo. {And} Thalo's advice is spot on.
Deal Addict
Mar 22, 2010
2541 posts
625 upvotes
non-cashable so you can't touch for 1 year.
Dec 1, 2019
120 posts
94 upvotes
Assuming your finances are at a point where you can think about investing, great job getting here.

https://i.imgur.com/zlGnuDO.png

Bond ETFs and GICs typically have rates around the 2% - 3% mark, barely above inflation - and that's for the 5 year GICs.

Getting $100 for $1000 is great, and with a GIC it's CDIC insured, so if the bank failed you'd at least get the $1000 back.

In a broader sense, you need to figure out your risk tolerance and investment time frame. In general if you need the money in 5 years or under, you're better off with GICs, TFSA savings accounts, or bond ETFs.

In this situation if you are using the $1000 for an emergency fund, keep it in a savings account so you can draw on it on short notice. Otherwise go for it.
Penalty Box
Aug 17, 2013
679 posts
582 upvotes
Toronto
How much does it cost to transfer out? withdrawal? close the account?

I'm sure it will cost more than the 100 they give you. Never worth unless you have an account there already and plan to keep it for a while.
Deal Addict
Jun 18, 2018