Entrepreneurship & Small Business

Tenants have mice. What are my legal responsibilities?

• Last Updated:
  • May 16th, 2017 6:09 pm
Tags:
None
[OP]
Jan 13, 2007
827 posts
6 upvotes

Tenants have mice. What are my legal responsibilities?

I have a rental home occupied by 3 students. theyre friends (knew eachother before they moved in). now they say they have mice.

mice come around in the winter time when they find clutter/junk, and things to eat. they crawl into houses where they can hibernate.

there were no mice last year

what am i suppose to do in this case?
18 replies
Deal Fanatic
Apr 28, 2005
6334 posts
43 upvotes
get rid of them?

Mice don't mean the house is dirty...heck where I rented I got them and I keep my place clean as a whistle.
- Private Investigator...contact me for your surveillance needs.
Mar 6, 2007
314 posts
5 upvotes
I'm not a lawyer but, this is from the residential tenancies act:
PART III
RESPONSIBILITIES OF LANDLORDS

Landlord’s responsibility to repair

20. (1) A landlord is responsible for providing and maintaining a residential complex, including the rental units in it, in a good state of repair and fit for habitation and for complying with health, safety, housing and maintenance standards. 2006, c. 17, s. 20 (1).
Mice droppings are potentially a health hazard so, it would probably fall under your responsibilities to hire pest control.
Deal Addict
Oct 4, 2009
1541 posts
5 upvotes
It absolutely does fall under the Act. You're required to get rid of pests.
Deal Fanatic
Oct 23, 2003
6374 posts
608 upvotes
rhetorical question. they can also damage the house among other things, so duh, get rid of them.

Never had mice...had cockaroaches but like others said, apt very clean...doesnt mean they're not around and coming from somewhere else, maybe nearby houses or apartments. you never know.
Deal Addict
Jan 28, 2009
1718 posts
155 upvotes
Calgary
LOL @ title "Tenants have mice"