Tags:
None
Deal Fanatic
Oct 8, 2006
5666 posts
656 upvotes
Toronto

TFSA - Investing/Savings

What do you with your TFSA? Currently mine are just in ING doing a small 1.4% interest.

Can you invest TFSA into mutual funds and such? I'm a beginner in all this stock stuff (lower then beginner probably). I have it maxed out right now.

Also how does your contribution room work if you can invest it.

say max room is 50K. You put in 50K. So your at the ceiling. Now your investments go up 10K then drop 5k then up 15K then drop 10K. Right now you are at 55K. You take it all out.

In the next year, is your contribution room now 70K (+yearly contribution room) or is it 55K (+yearly contribution room)?
5 replies
Jan 27, 2014
27 posts
11 upvotes
You can invest in anything really, but you can not use margin. The answer is 55K + contribution.
Deal Expert
Mar 1, 2008
19151 posts
9079 upvotes
Toronto, Ontario
I just opened one an hour ago at TD. It's a TD Mutual Funds TFSA. Didn't want to put it there and just collect interest which is less than inflation, so I chose one with some risk.
RFD is love. RFD is life.
Aug 26, 2012
286 posts
81 upvotes
[QUOTE] say max room is 50K. You put in 50K. So your at the ceiling. Now your investments go up 10K then drop 5k then up 15K then drop 10K. Right now you are at 55K. You take it all out.[/QUOTE]
It's 55k.
But, if it becomes 40k, and you take it all out, your contribution becomes 40k (risk).

Read up on http://canadiancouchpotato.com/model-portfolios/ as a start
Oct 14, 2012
954 posts
728 upvotes
Woodstock
The trick question is what are you saving in your TFSA for?
If you're saving for a home or a car or a trip, you may want the money pretty soon. If so, investing in stocks is not a great idea. If the market is down when you need your money you will have to sell and lose money.