Food & Drink

is there pork in bubble tea?

  • Last Updated:
  • Nov 29th, 2004 4:19 pm
Tags:
None
Deal Fanatic
User avatar
Oct 3, 2004
5776 posts
281 upvotes
where's the pork? I didn't see it come up
Deal Fanatic
User avatar
Jul 18, 2003
6273 posts
66 upvotes
Etobicoke
Title of this thread should be "Is there pork in tapioca balls or jelly", instead of "pork in bubble tea". One can get bubble tea without tapioca or jelly.

There is a bit of cow in those milk bubble teas.
Deal Fanatic
Sep 16, 2004
7914 posts
1136 upvotes
Toronto
check out the tapioca plantness here:

http://davesgarden.com/pdb/go/1827/

I think most gelatin comes from beef sources such as the hooves etc like the one in jello.

There is also vegetarian gelatin from seaweed extract and sometimes called Agar Agar. It is the most available source of gelatin and possibly cheaper than animal sources in China so even if they did use gelatin most likely it may be this type.

I know it is used in the ABC brand jelly cups and straws i purchase from the dollar store and they taste so good. the cups contain a substance previously konjac but now coconut which has a consistency similar to the bubbles in bubble tea.

Top