Thinking of 2008 VW Rabbit for $3400 but has fender and door rust

• Last Updated:
  • Feb 27th, 2019 11:13 am
[OP]
Feb 25, 2019
3 posts
1 upvote

Thinking of 2008 VW Rabbit for $3400 but has fender and door rust

Hey guys so I’m looking at a 2008 VW rabbit 2.5 L and it is in very good condition with 160 000 KM for mileage, and brand new summer tires from Canadian Tire and all for 3400$ which is perfect. However, it has door and fender rust and I’ve heard that VW covers rust for 12 years, is that true? Its just that i’m a student and my budget is quite limited
11 replies
Deal Guru
Feb 11, 2007
11760 posts
11374 upvotes
Oakville
Rust warranty is typically only for perforation (ie, you can see right through it).
Body rust isn't a big issue if it's controlled. If you're worried, have it inspected by a good independent mechanic.
BTW, those 2.5L rabbit engines sucked. Not much power and terrible MPG.
[OP]
Feb 25, 2019
3 posts
1 upvote
engineered wrote:
Feb 26th, 2019 2:23 pm
Rust warranty is typically only for perforation (ie, you can see right through it).
Body rust isn't a big issue if it's controlled. If you're worried, have it inspected by a good independent mechanic.
Yeah, I've read about it and that's why I'm talking to a guy selling a '07 GTI, more power and better MPG
I just want that car because I really like it and I've read that it is very reliable
Deal Addict
Aug 7, 2007
3173 posts
1173 upvotes
GTA
How bad is the rust? Going untreated, it just gets worse. $3400 sounds like the vehicle is selling as is but you can always try to negotiate and then go and body shop and have them fix the rust.
Deal Fanatic
Jun 26, 2007
5925 posts
1385 upvotes
???
If there’s underbody rust and it’s perforated it won’t pass safety. Just a heads up.
[OP]
Feb 25, 2019
3 posts
1 upvote
Got it checked by a mechanic, no underbody rust, no perforation but if it is let like that there will be perforation and everything passed at the mechanic’s shop
Deal Expert
Mar 23, 2004
24733 posts