Careers

Tips for applying to ontario public service job?

• Last Updated:
  • Feb 4th, 2010 10:42 pm
Tags:
None
Deal Fanatic
Sep 2, 2008
9721 posts
427 upvotes

Tips for applying to ontario public service job?

I'm applying for an administration job with OPS which is relatively low in requirements. I have a post secondary degree which is a bit technical and not related to this job. A couple people have told me not to put this degree down because they won't want to hire "overqualified" people. I disagree with this but neither of us have any real knowledge about OPS hiring practices. In my opinion its just stupid to leave out any qualification...its not like its a Doctorate or something I'm putting there.

As well, any other tips on applying? What about reasons of why I want to apply for that job? My real reason is that I'm tired of my technical field and want to get a secure job with the gov't and then move around and find something I like but I don't think that sounds very good.
26 replies
Deal Addict
Sep 24, 2007
1185 posts
99 upvotes
I applied to an OPS position about a month ago, still no peep out of them, don't know really how long their entire process is.
Sep 19, 2009
6 posts
Barrie
Bump

I'd like to know this as well, I've applied to many MNR and MOE jobs in the past with no word from them. I find the job descriptions always really vague and generalized. About the only specific qualification they state is 'Driver's License'.
It's always ambiguous "knowledge of this and knowledge of that..."
Deal Addict
Mar 7, 2009
1297 posts
2 upvotes
Waterloo
I've applied to many OPS jobs mostly systems analyst and programmer analyst, etc and have not heard back. My guess is they get hundreds or even thousands of applications for these jobs so your chances of even getting an interview are very low unless you have a lot of experience in exactly what they're looking for.