Careers

Tips for getting a job at Shopper's Drug Mart?

• Last Updated:
  • Sep 16th, 2009 7:27 pm
Tags:
None
May 10, 2006
433 posts
3 upvotes

Tips for getting a job at Shopper's Drug Mart?

Can anyone offer any tips for getting hired at Shopper's Drug Mart? Has anyone here ever worked there? My local franchise is hiring a part-time cashier, merchandiser, and photo lab technician.

I'm a mature student finishing up the very last of my high school credits, currently. I have a year's worth of experience doing sales/cash/customer service at a computer store, and a few months' experience doing sales/customer service over the phone for home phone/cable customers. This would be my most relevant experience.

I live right next door and can work flexible hours, available Monday-Friday after 11:00 a.m. and Saturday and Sunday all day. My English is perfect and I'm proficient with computers (which might come in handy for the photo lab, if they're willing to hire someone without experience).

How would you approach an application and cover letter?

My thanks for your advice.
18 replies
Banned
Jun 19, 2006
9349 posts
42 upvotes
In Shoppers Drug Mart parlance, the 'manager' of the store is known as an "Associate". The name of the "Associate" for each store is on their website -- look up the name, and direct your application towards that person.

Any other 'manager' in the store essentially has no real authority, but the 'pharmacy manager' is usually second in command.
Deal Addict
May 28, 2005
1806 posts
82 upvotes
Which Shopper's Drug Mart is it? If its the one on Warden then i can help you out
Deal Guru
Nov 16, 2004
11937 posts
569 upvotes
Toronto
If you have experience already, I wouldn't waste my time at Shoppers Drug Mart. Unless you want to apply to work as a manager of sorts (and even that, schmeh) I wouldn't bother.