Top MBA - Bloated Ego?

• Last Updated:
  • Aug 15th, 2019 5:02 pm
Tags:
[OP]
Aug 10, 2019
7 posts

Top MBA - Bloated Ego?

Do you receive messages on Linkedin from MBA Candidates asking you for a referral or a job or perspective? Do you guys reply to them? I've been getting a few messages lately and some of them don't really know how to network? I'm a Commercial Banker and I live in a low city so I do not understand this whole Rotman or other top MBA school ego thing. When I was looking for a school to do my MBA, I decided not to drown myself into debt so I went to a non-target school where I graduated debt-free and got a job in a Bank right after school. Because I live in a low-cost city, I managed to saved $25k in two years so I have no regrets. I’m 32 years old so maybe for someone else I’m not doing great at my age but I’m perfectly fine with their judgment. In this one instance, this Indian guy from Rotman messaged me asking for perspective and I gladly shared. But then he started telling me he deserves better than Commercial Banking because he has work experience from top firms in India. I mean, I’m from India and I know what kind of work experience are you talking about? Consulting experience at Deloitte in India.