• Dec 11th, 2017 10:42 am
Deal Addict
May 22, 2003
2324 posts
1054 upvotes
Vancouver
John47 wrote:
Oct 12th, 2017 3:33 pm

Specifically how will the tax proposals affect businesses that are not profitable? How will they make profitable businesses unprofitable?
As a business owner I look beyond just the profitability of the business. Let's say after I pay myself a $70,000/year salary I have $5000 leftover. You are correct, the new rules will not change my $5000 profit. My retirement plans took into account investing my profits from the business. My business is a mature business with lots of competition, so it is unlikely my business will grow that much. If I could find a job that paid $70,000/year with benefits, I'm actually worse off financially than running my own business (not to mention I'm working 60+ hours/week). Nobody in their right mind would take all the additional risk/work of owning a business unless there was a substantial incentive to do so. To make it an "even playing field" with the new rules, essentially takes away a significant incentive to a run a small business. Don't forget as a small business owner, I am making employer contributions to CPP/EI on behalf of the employee, we are also collecting/remitting GST/PST for the government for free. The new rules will also make tax-filing more complicated which will lead to higher accountant fees.

If a business is not even profitable in the first place, and has no viable prospect of becoming so, am I right to believe that the tax proposals will have zero impact on its operations and its viability?
From my understanding, you are correct.
I'm looking for specifics here. I'm not familiar with all the ins-and-outs of the tax proposals so I'm open to being educated.

So I'd be right to think that the main implication for you is with regards to the taxation of "passive investment", and not with expansion, hiring and growth?