• Last Updated:
  • Apr 17th, 2018 1:23 am
[OP]
Dec 10, 2012
232 posts
67 upvotes
Vancouver

Turbo Tax vs. Tax Service

Wondering what the benefit is to going to H&R Block or an accountant vs using Turbo Tax for a personal return?
I've always used Turbo Tax for years and it works well. Plug in all your T Slips, RSP info, apply deductions and it is pretty straight forward
This year I owe money for the first in a while. Would an H&R Block be able to find me additional tax savings? My gut tells me no but I've never used a tax service like that before.
I'm trying to understand the value proposition relative to the additional cost?
Thanks in advance.
11 replies
Deal Addict
Apr 18, 2013
2613 posts
974 upvotes
Canada
Stay away from both and use Simple Tax instead.
Dec 24, 2007
920 posts
852 upvotes
BC
Nope, speaking as an accountant there are not a lot of deductions for someone who just receives T4 income and some interest income. H&R Block and any other tax accountant wouldn't be able to help you much. Certainly not worth the $100 they will charge even if they find some little amount you might have missed.

SimpleTax is the much easier compared to TurboTax, way more intuitive for the ordinary person.
Nov 6, 2015
711 posts
310 upvotes
Guelph, ON
H & R Block will just plug your numbers into their software, which does the same thing as any other software and will come out with the same results. Basically you're just paying them for data entry, not "expertise".
Deal Fanatic
Jan 9, 2011
5614 posts
5585 upvotes
Vancouver
Forget Turbo Tax. Use free software like Studiotax. Paying a private for-profit company for software for you to file your own taxes is a government sponsored scam. Canadians have become so used to it it seems normal, but this is unheard of almost everywhere else. The USA and Canada are the only other countries I can find where this is commonplace.
Banned
Mar 8, 2018
144 posts
89 upvotes
Kiraly wrote:
Apr 15th, 2018 8:54 pm