Careers

University vs. College for career in data / biz analytics / business tech / information system..

• Last Updated:
  • May 10th, 2017 12:41 pm
[OP]
Apr 18, 2017
19 posts
1 upvote

University vs. College for career in data / biz analytics / business tech / information system..

Hi Forum,

I am 28, applying for immigration and have a few years of work experience overseas. I want to work in the field of data science or business analytics, or management information system, after landing in Canada.

I have a Bachelor's and a taught Master's degree in business field (both degrees outside Canada) and, because the degrees and experience are irrelevant to this field in Canada, I want to go back to school first to gain both CS education and local experience, in order to increase my chance of finding a job in Canada.

After some research I find college cs-related diplomas (2 or 3 years with co-op) and university programs at undergraduate levels (program duration and, sometimes, co-op availability depend on the number of credits transferred and might take longer time than college if do co-op). Which one would be more proper to pursue given my background and career goals?

I think colleges (e.g. Algonquin, Fanshawe) are more practical with co-op and I could graduate sooner. University degrees (UBC, SFU, Calgary, McMaster, just to name a few) are more recognized by employers and but takes more time to finish (probably graduate at the time when I pass 30..)

Thanks a lot for the inputs and appreciate it if you could name some locally well-known program.

UPDATE AT 2017/4/28:-

So basically I have three types of choice in terms of education program:

1. University professional master's in business analytics (1-2 year in length, some with internship or co-op)
2. University second undergraduate study in computer science (apply as transfer student, possibly need 3 years to complete or more with co-op)