• Last Updated:
  • Mar 15th, 2011 8:40 pm
Tags:
None
Nov 23, 2007
400 posts
36 upvotes

Unpaid bills: how much interest can I add before sending bill to collections

A law firm owes me over $1000.00 for work I did 2 years ago preparing reports.

They have not paid any of the invoices and are not returning my phone calls. Unfortunately a staff member in charge of billings let this go for two years until she told me.

I am about to send the bill to a collection agency and I have a few questions about it.

How much interest can I legally add to the bill?

Also if an individual lawyer requested the report, but sent the request under his law firm's letterhead, can I go after the individual lawyer for payment, rather than the incorporated law firm?

Also I have heard of taking people to small claims court for unpaid bills. I can't understand the sense in this, if there is a judgment in small claims court then it is just one more bill they won't pay also.

I have no experience in this as this is the first sizable bill that has not been paid so any advice will be appreciated. In the future I will not do any work of this sort until I am paid in advance.
6 replies
Deal Guru
Aug 2, 2001
12749 posts
3649 upvotes
trilinearmipmap wrote:
Jan 13th, 2011 3:32 pm
Also I have heard of taking people to small claims court for unpaid bills. I can't understand the sense in this, if there is a judgment in small claims court then it is just one more bill they won't pay also.
In Alberta at least, Small Claims Court victories start the process to (when suing against an individual) garnishing wages, seizing property, etc... I'm sure with a business the same would apply.
[OP]
Nov 23, 2007
400 posts
36 upvotes
RobberBarron wrote:
Jan 13th, 2011 6:32 pm