UPS backup power supply worth it?

• Last Updated:
  • Aug 12th, 2017 6:54 pm
Jul 6, 2009
223 posts
33 upvotes
ChubChub wrote:
Jul 14th, 2017 9:27 pm
While brownouts generally simply result in stuff turning off, the other end is the electronics might start working much harder to maintain operation.
You are again rationalizing. If it works harder, then internal parts must be more robust - so that harder does not even come close to damage. I have been designing this stuff for more than 40 years. Suddenly you know otherwise? And never post any numbers to support your feelings? Even your citations say different from what you posted. I know one perfect example. We wrote it. You completely misread it. You even ignore numbers in your citations that contradicted your beliefs.

Junk science - subjective claims - no number. Add to that insufficient knowledge on how lightning and electricity work. Apparently you even believe lightning is a DC current - when your citations say otherwise.
Deal Expert
Aug 2, 2004
25502 posts
2771 upvotes
East Gwillimbury
teleguitar wrote:
Jul 14th, 2017 6:24 pm
Where? I think you need to go to where it's being sold.... these things are super expensive to ship? I still plan on ordering a battery but the cheapest I can find is around $80 (for an older APC XS800 model).
This is the unit I am referring to

https://www.amazon.ca/CyberPower-CP600L ... B000OTEZ5I

I've bought them on sale for ~$60
Deal Addict
Oct 9, 2010
1675 posts
331 upvotes
Windsor
westom wrote:
Jul 14th, 2017 9:32 pm
I have been designing this stuff for more than 40 years.