Computers & Electronics

Use a webhosting service as a DNS to connect to a remote desktop?

• Last Updated:
  • Apr 10th, 2014 10:14 pm
Tags:
None
Deal Addict
Dec 30, 2007
4345 posts
444 upvotes
GTA

Use a webhosting service as a DNS to connect to a remote desktop?

Not sure that the right place to post this or even if my question makes sense but ill give it a shot.

Currently im using the free host name with dyn.com to connect to my homes ip address so that i can remote in to my desktop using the host name instead of the ip. Today i got an email from dyn.com that they are stopping the free service and if i want to keep using it i should buy the pro account.
I also have a web hosting account with arvixe.com which allows for unlimited domains/sub-domains.
My question is, and please bare in mind that im not very tech savvy, can i use my web hosting account to somehow replicate what dyn.com was offering? essentially i want to be able to type in an address in the remote desktop application instead of an IP address.
14 replies
Feb 5, 2008
129 posts
7 upvotes
You would have to bind your home IP to the domain-subdomain in order to do this.
What exactly are you doing on your desktop? Is it just a webpage you are accessing or is it the whole PC?
Deal Addict
Dec 30, 2007
4345 posts
444 upvotes
GTA
what do you mean by bind?

I want to be able to use the Windows Remote Desktop tool to connect to a pc at home as a remote user (whole pc)
Feb 5, 2008
129 posts
7 upvotes
urir10 wrote: what do you mean by bind?

I want to be able to use the Windows Remote Desktop tool to connect to a pc at home as a remote user (whole pc)
Use Teamviewer. Its free, and a lot better then WRD. Also you don't need to remember a name or IP to use. Small and light weight
Feb 14, 2013
174 posts
24 upvotes
Earache wrote: Use Teamviewer. Its free, and a lot better then WRD. Also you don't need to remember a name or IP to use. Small and light weight
+1