[OP]
Deal Addict
Dec 27, 2011
2381 posts
940 upvotes
Toronto

Using green bin and smaller kitchen container

I'm new to using these and have some questions:

1) What do you use to line the large green bins? Or do you use anything at all?
2) Can you just throw the acceptable items (such as meat or fruit) directly into the large green bin or do they need to be wrapped in something first (like newspaper or smaller compostable bag from kitchen container)?
3) On pickup day, do you find that some of the stuff at the bottom of the green bin remain in the bin?
15 replies
Deal Expert
Aug 2, 2004
25896 posts
2889 upvotes
East Gwillimbury
It depends on your municipality. But I sgguest you line the large green bin with a compostable bag

If you just throw food into the bin, you can expect maggots to appear in a matter of days.

Most people have a smaller bin in the kitchen that should be emptied out daily or every other day.
[OP]
Deal Addict
Dec 27, 2011
2381 posts
940 upvotes
Toronto
Gee wrote:
May 27th, 2017 11:03 pm
It depends on your municipality. But I sgguest you line the large green bin with a compostable bag

If you just throw food into the bin, you can expect maggots to appear in a matter of days.

Most people have a smaller bin in the kitchen that should be emptied out daily or every other day.
Yep I have a small kitchener container with a compostable bag inside. Everytime it gets full (or smelly) I'll tie the bag up and throw it in the green bin. I didn't know they made big compostable bags for green bins though, i guess you can just buy them at the grocery store? I just hate how it's yet another thing I'll need to keep buying :(
Deal Expert
Aug 2, 2004
25896 posts
2889 upvotes
East Gwillimbury
crystallight wrote:
May 28th, 2017 3:17 am