• Jan 19th, 2013 10:38 am
Tags:
None
Nov 18, 2012
162 posts
7 upvotes
Scarborough

UTSC degree requirements

Hi, I'm in my 4th year at UTSC doing a double major. I started off in the BA program without a major taking whatever courses I pleased. Now I'm focused on finishing up my degree. I'm looking at the degree navigator and degree requirements and am not entirely sure what I need to be taking. I'm already enrolled in courses, so I have to get this figured out and get in the courses I need to asap.

All the lines at school are long as heck, so I don't want to be waiting in the wrong line only to be told I have to go wait somewhere else. Can someone please tell me who I should go speak and where I can find them to figure this mess out?

Thanks.
13 replies
Dec 30, 2012
34 posts
1 upvote
Toronto
Look at your program requirements in the 2012-2013 calendar. It'll say what courses are required to complete the major.
Then look at degree navigator. You'll need a certain amount of C/D-level courses, a certain amount of courses in each breadth, and a certain amount of total credits to graduate.
Basically graduation = meeting UTSC graduation requirements + meeting requirements for each major
For Hon. BA I believe it's at least 6 full credits (or 12 half credits) in C/D-level courses, and 20 total full credits (or 40 half credits). However, you're exempt from this requirement if you started UTSC prior to Sept 2009 or 2008, you gotta double check on it, or send registrar an email (use Askus, they usually reply within 2-3 days).
Deal Addict
Mar 21, 2010
2060 posts
1906 upvotes
Are you trolling us? How can you take upper year courses if you are not in a major?

Personally, you should look at majors that you have fulfill the most... and then take the remaining courses.
Nov 18, 2012
162 posts
7 upvotes
Scarborough
arclite wrote: You can either:
1) Go to academic advising and ask for a degree audit
2) Ask your program supervisor for a degree/program audit