VIN Report for different vehicle

• Last Updated:
  • Dec 25th, 2018 4:25 pm
[OP]
Sep 17, 2013
3 posts
Surrey

VIN Report for different vehicle

I am currently trying to to sell my truck online, and it's my first time selling a vehicle.

I am getting some people asking for the vehicle's VIN. I'm not comfortable giving it out, but I wanted to take a screen shot of the VIN report and send it to them without the actual number, when I pull it up, it lists a vehicle same make and model but services done to it are not my truck and in the states. What do I do about this? Would it have affected any of the servicing I received over the years at the dealership that was out of warranty or my insurance?

Thanks!
9 replies
Deal Expert
Aug 22, 2011
24947 posts
11234 upvotes
Ottawa
What are you worried about?
Oct 26, 2007
198 posts
87 upvotes
Are you sure you inputted the VIN correctly? If the report is truly is incorrect contact Carproof and get them to correct.
Dec 12, 2009
41 posts
13 upvotes
Guelph, ON
Where did YOU buy this truck? Maybe go to them and see what's up with the VIN. If they reported it wrong, see if they can correct it. Not much info here OP.

+1 for poster who asked if you inputted the VIN correctly. That's alot of characters...easy to make a mistake.
Deal Addict
Jul 5, 2011
1167 posts
848 upvotes
Toronto
Why are you concerned about sending them the VIN?

Any website with listings will have the VIN# as well..
2013 Wins - $1320 - Woohoo!
Sep 7, 2007
159 posts
47 upvotes
Woodstock
You most likely transcribed the VIN incorrectly? VINs do not include the letters I (i), O (o), Q (q), U (u) or Z (z), so that they will not be confused with similar looking numbers/letters.