Expired Hot Deals

[VLCANADA] Recertified TP-Link AC1900 Dual Band 4.3" Touchscreen WiFi Gigabit Router, 2.4GHz 600Mbps + 5GHz 1300Mbps, 2 USB Ports

20 replies
Deal Fanatic
Mar 17, 2006
6025 posts
4495 upvotes
North York
What's the point of a touchscreen on this? Better dust indicator?

Router should be one of those devices you set up and forget about it. Not holding the router and play with its touchscreen every day, are you?
Dec 26, 2010
86 posts
4 upvotes
Anyone know if this router is any good for VPNs?
Mar 26, 2012
19 posts
4 upvotes
Mississauga
konsensei wrote:
Nov 8th, 2018 1:04 am
What's the point of a touchscreen on this? Better dust indicator?

Router should be one of those devices you set up and forget about it. Not holding the router and play with its touchscreen every day, are you?
As a sys admin, I agree with you. I haven't used this device before, but if it does what I am expecting it does; it allows users that are less tech inclined to be able to configure their router a bit better than what comes out of box. I've had loads of difficulty explaining to people to go to a browser and type in 192.168.1.1 etc. I don't think it's something you would sideload some games on, but I do think it can allow for users to configure settings directly on the router which isn't such a bad thing.
Deal Guru
Feb 24, 2003
14865 posts
2044 upvotes
Toronto
Kreuger wrote:
Nov 8th, 2018 3:53 am
For VPN server or as a client?

Many routers can't run as a VPN client.
Deal Fanatic
Mar 17, 2006
6025 posts
4495 upvotes
North York
Kreuger wrote:
Nov 8th, 2018 3:53 am
Would not recommend running VPN clients on router levels.
There would be websites and apps blocking your VPN. You would then have to log into your router, disable the VPN and restart the router everytime.
Feb 1, 2011
196 posts
75 upvotes
Vancouver
not sure. but search youtube, some video about setting up tplink router and vpn
Nov 6, 2018
69 posts
17 upvotes