• Last Updated:
  • Mar 13th, 2011 3:32 am
Tags:
None
Feb 28, 2011
1 posts
Texas

Walmart cashier help

Hi, I'm new here and the only reason I created an account was to ask this question(s). So I'm a new cashier at Walmart and I have no idea what I'm doing 75% of the time. I've been a cashier for two days (Sunday night & Monday). Today will be my third day being on my own. It's my first real job and I can't seem to get the hang of the some of the transaction codes. Anytime I ask a CSM for help they look at me like "uhh, are you an idiot?!" so I am now afraid to ask them for any help. So my questions are: when a customer wants to pay using a check but they would like some money back what codes do I type in for that transaction? Also, when they want to use a shop card to make a purchase what codes do I use for that transaction? I know these sound like such stupid questions but it takes me a while to catch onto new things. And, like I said, it's my first time being a cashier and my first real job in general. I'm really REALLY really REALLY desperate! Any help at all would just make my day. I have a shift tonight and I'm already dreading it and freaking out because I don't want to be fired on my third day. So please, anything ANY little bit of help would be so greatly appreciated. Thanks so much for reading.
5 replies
Jan 17, 2010
275 posts
12 upvotes
Niagara Falls
It's your third day and totally unreasonable for them to expect you to have all that memorized. They likely don't think you're an idiot. Ask if they have a list of codes for you to bring home so you can study.

My first job was at Zehrs and to remember all those produce codes would be impossible in 2 shifts. You will get the hang of it, and remember everyone there was in your place at one point in time.
Mar 13, 2008
201 posts
3 upvotes
Toronto
Perhaps you should try asking your co-workers or your supervisor.