Fashion & Apparel

watch lovers....what's your favorite watch?

Deal Addict
Jan 21, 2009
2171 posts
233 upvotes
TO
billford wrote:
Oct 15th, 2017 10:11 am
I have a Omega speedmaster professional moon watch, bought it sometime in the early '80's. Think I paid around 2 or $300 new. Do not have the original box or receipt anymore

I see the new ones retail in the $5000 range? Seems to be grossly overpriced, but I don't know. Never wear it anymore. My new casio g shock actually keeps better time.

When selling old watches, do buyers usually remove the back covers to inspect it? Or maybe I should keep it?
I'll buy it for $1000
Oct 16, 2011
93 posts
38 upvotes
ST THOMAS
billford wrote:
Oct 15th, 2017 10:11 am
I have a Omega speedmaster professional moon watch, bought it sometime in the early '80's. Think I paid around 2 or $300 new. Do not have the original box or receipt anymore

I see the new ones retail in the $5000 range? Seems to be grossly overpriced, but I don't know. Never wear it anymore. My new casio g shock actually keeps better time.

When selling old watches, do buyers usually remove the back covers to inspect it? Or maybe I should keep it?
If you are considering selling it, don't accept the first lowball offer that comes along - that's someone trying to scam you out of a nice watch for cheap...by offering you $1000 for it...

With vintage Speedmasters, there are a lot of things that will affect the value. If the original tritium hands and dial are still present and have a nice patina, then it will be worth more. Certainly earlier versions are more valuable, but a nice condition 80's watch with nice patina could easily be a $3k watch to the right buyer.

Although this site doesn't cover watches as late as the 80's, it will give you an overview of the kinds of things that people who collect these look for:

http://speedmaster101.com/

Cheers, Al
Feb 6, 2011
966 posts
529 upvotes
ArcherWatches wrote:
Oct 16th, 2017 8:10 am