Wedding photographer/videographer recommendations

• Last Updated:
  • Dec 16th, 2017 8:05 pm
[OP]
Sep 14, 2007
674 posts
140 upvotes

Wedding photographer/videographer recommendations

I've visited a few studios and started getting quotes.
Can anybody please provide some recommendations of photographers/videographers for weddings that are good value?

While interviewing them, what sort of things should I be looking for? I'm not a really artistic person, but since getting into shopping for this service, I'm trying to educate myself on the topic.
Currently I look for:
- have they shot at this venue before
- years of experience
- sample portfolio of photos/albums/videos
- ask what their approach/concept is to good wedding photography (natural vs staged effect)
7 replies
Deal Fanatic
Dec 11, 2008
7506 posts
543 upvotes
My biggest thing is:

DO I LOVE THEIR WORK. And it's not just the images they show, I want to see an entire wedding shot so i can see the story and the number of images I like. I don't want to base my choice on one photo, I want to see how the day went, how the images all look and the consistency of them.

Second is style, if I like them, what style does it belong to or does it not even belong in any?

Lastly, can be logistics. How many are shooting? Sometimes it's one photographer and sometimes it's just NOT possible to shoot what you want given there is one person doing it all. That does not mean 3+ photographers will get you better photos, it may improve coverage of events. But again, you have to love their photos first and foremost.

Good value is entirely subjective. Some will may as much as possible to get the images they want, some are happy with just the price. In general, you do get what you pay for but in the end, as long as you love your images, the price is irrelevant unless it's out of budget.
Aug 1, 2010
741 posts
299 upvotes
Montreal
Time for delivery and what happens if they pass the delivery date.