• Jan 18th, 2019 3:00 pm
Tags:
Deal Addict
Aug 5, 2011
2313 posts
192 upvotes
YF

Weird options scenario

So I am just a newbie in investing, recently came across that my friend lost quite a lot of money on options. He bought a 325 Put option for NFLX, expiring 25/Jan. With the anticipation that NFLX would fall on earnings, indeed it fell 5% today, but he lost 50%. The purchase price was 6.8$ the day before, it went to 3.2$ after the stock fell, losing half in price. Isn't the Put suppose to make him more money when the price is going down?
12 replies
Deal Addict
Aug 7, 2007
4795 posts
3847 upvotes
GTA
https://www.investopedia.com/university ... s-pricing/

If you're a newbie to investing, you need to stay far away from Options. This isn't a "weird options scenario".
His NFLX strike price is $325. NFLX is currently trading at $343. He is NOWHERE near the strike price. That's why the option lost it's value and it's expiring soon.
Deal Addict
Aug 5, 2011
2313 posts
192 upvotes
YF
Thank you for the response, he bought it the day before when NFLX was at 350 @ 6.8$, today stock fell to 343, the option is now worth 3.2. Expiration is next Friday, plenty of time value remaining. The stock is moving in his direction so he shoudnt be losing money. But he lost 50%. Did the sellers jack up the prices before earnings? $6.8 was among the lowest price yesterday.
Deal Guru
Jun 26, 2005
10111 posts
1966 upvotes
Toronto
It's because of Greeks. There are 5 factors that determine the price of an option. Price of the underlying is just one of them.

One of them is Vega, which is implied volatility. What happened in his case may have been:

Before earnings, the implied volatility is very high (Vega), because people have no idea what the stock price will do after earnings. High Vega means the price of his PUT was very high.

Then, after earnings are announced, the vega will crash down big time, because everyone now knows. So, price of the put option will drop significantly.