Personal Finance

What to do with money that's sitting in my bank account?

• Last Updated:
  • Feb 6th, 2012 9:00 am
[OP]
Dec 16, 2011
3 posts
NORTH YORK

What to do with money that's sitting in my bank account?

Hello,

I'm a university student in Ontario, wondering what to do with the money that's sitting in my account.
I have about 20 thousand in savings in a CIBC savings account that I don't plan on touching for a very long time (I'm extremely frugal, and have all my school debts paid off).

I was wondering how I can make my money work for me? If I wont be touching the 20k for years to come (ideally only when I need to buy a home for myself, years from now) where can I invest/put it?

Something simple and not-risky would be great. ('m not a math/business major so I don't want to get confused)

Thanks! :D
15 replies
Deal Addict
Aug 28, 2010
3521 posts
1215 upvotes
Halifax
You need to be more explicit to get useful advice.

How many years until you expect to need the money? 5, 7, 10?

And what does non-risky mean? Are you not willing to lose any money? Are you willing to lose $1000? $5000?
Deal Addict
Jan 14, 2012
1148 posts
234 upvotes
Woodbridge
Make an appointment with a Financial Advisor at your bank, they will be able to answer all your questions, You will probably end up throwing it into a low risk Mutual Fund maybe get 3-7% per year if you are willing to take a little risk.
Aug 27, 2007
442 posts
60 upvotes
Johnny0c wrote:
Feb 4th, 2012 10:10 pm
Make an appointment with a Financial Advisor at your bank, they will be able to answer all your questions, You will probably end up throwing it into a low risk Mutual Fund maybe get 3-7% per year if you are willing to take a little risk.

Careful with going to a Financial Advisor at a bank... their main interests are in increasing their sales figures, not necessarily on maximizing your investment.
Deal Addict
Feb 17, 2007
3190 posts
198 upvotes
crownme wrote:
Feb 5th, 2012 12:53 am