None
Deal Addict
Dec 28, 2011
2433 posts
199 upvotes
Calgary
knuks101 wrote:
Feb 2nd, 2013 12:14 am
I'm a newbie here and did a search for Air Miles. I've been collecting them for more than 10 years and I think I only redeemed them once, so now I have enough for two flights to the Caribbean. I've been playing around with their site for a while now, but it seems that no matter what date I put, a flight to St. Thomas (USVI) is just not available. I think that's ridiculous, given that three of the Air Miles flight partners fly to St. Thomas (Air Canada, Westjet and United). I tried a few different Caribbean island and some of them work, some of them don't. Any tips? We're thinking next winter, so I still have plenty of time, but I tried some dates for this winter and spring, just to see what came up.

BTW, I'm planning on using up all our Air Miles and then get rid of the whole program.
You don't have to do that just don't go out of you way to collect, it does not cost you anything. I pretty well used all my for hotels this year.
Jan 31, 2013
837 posts
88 upvotes
Red Deer, AB
true, I may use them for gift card or something. I actually was able to find some flight to Puerto Rico , and from there on we may be able to get flights to the Virgin Islands. Although I think it 's ridiculous that we have to pay for those, given that WJ flies to St. Thomas!
Deal Addict
Jan 17, 2012
1808 posts
69 upvotes
Toronto
I collect aimiles exclusively for flights. My girlfriend lives in the U.S. so it helps with visits. If I were to pay for the flight it would cost a little over $1000 in low season. It costs me 1400 AM + $139 in fees with airmiles. Now I am no expert in figuring out which is the best deal but considering 95AM gets you $10 in cash, to get an $860 card (the $1000 value of flight - fees) one would have to redeedm 8170 airmiles....Obviously for me it is a good deal for flights.