Careers

What Should Be My Expectations For Pay Be?

• Last Updated:
  • Jun 11th, 2018 3:58 pm
Tags:
None
[OP]
Banned
Mar 24, 2018
50 posts
9 upvotes

What Should Be My Expectations For Pay Be?

Hello,
Here is my situation. Since I have been working at my current job (2.5 years), I’ve decided to complete a business degree honours at an university. I am finishing my degree next April. I’m also done the CPM next May. I want to know when I’m looking for a new job, should I factor in my higher education into my salary expectation? I’m not sure what a staff/intermediate accountant would make in industry? I work in the accounting/Payroll field. My position, bookkeeper is a mid-range position not entry level. The job title does not match up to the responsibilities of the job. I do a lot more than my title, bookkeeper. I would be more of a senior bookkeeper or staff accountant. The firm isn’t willing to change my title for whatever reasons. I don’t get paid well because I work in public firm and is notorious for underpaying their staff compared to corporate. Also since I’m looking for a job now, should I say how far am I in the degree program? How many credits out of 120?
20 replies
Deal Addict
Dec 27, 2007
2718 posts
589 upvotes
Edmonton
I wouldn't bother saying how many credits, bit that's me. Either your done or your not done.

Hows $20 an hour sound?
warming up the earth 1 gas fill-up at a time...
You only live once, get a v8
Deal Expert
Aug 22, 2011
22656 posts
9216 upvotes
Ottawa
Education doesn't mean shit without the relevant experience!
Deal Fanatic
Dec 27, 2009
5415 posts
2653 upvotes
Ottawa, ON
It won't matter a bit. Experience and what you bring to the firm is far more important. Nothing magical will happen because you completed your degree.
[OP]
Banned
Mar 24, 2018
50 posts
9 upvotes
Okay thanks everyone. Keeps it in perspective.
Deal Addict
Oct 18, 2014
1525 posts
547 upvotes
Tokyo
Just to touch on the "title" topic: