Personal Finance

What software do you use for keeping track of your finances?

• Last Updated:
  • Jan 11th, 2013 3:50 pm
Tags:
None
Deal Guru
Aug 14, 2007
12807 posts
3837 upvotes
--

What software do you use for keeping track of your finances?

I've been looking to get an application to track my finances and budgets.

Some people are suggesting Microsoft money (or whatever it's called) however it is discontinued.

I saw another program called You Need A Budget (YNAP) for $60 but I will try the 30 day trial first...

Excel I could use however I haven't made up a spreadsheet in years so it wouldn't be that good.

Any other suggestions for an application preferably free?
41 replies
May 25, 2006
301 posts
24 upvotes
I just use excel. Mind you I work in finance so I do spreadsheets all day every day.
Banned
Jul 26, 2009
4315 posts
663 upvotes
Toronto
I use mint for android. Very useful, I think they have mint for PC as well.
https://www.mint.com/canada/

It is given read only access to your accounts, and it pretty much creates budgets for you based on your first month's spending, then you can tweak it from there.

It gives alerts when overbudget, or when you get charged fees by your bank/credit card.

And before someone says its unsafe, I use it, millions of others use it on Android/iOS, so far no report of anyone getting their account hacked... yet
i5-3570K 3.4GHz | ASUS DCII 7850 2Gb
8Gb DDR3 1333MHz | 128GB HyperX SSD + 1Tb HDD
Gigabyte Z77-DS3H | Ultra 650W PSU | Dell 22" 1920x1080 LED
The proud owner of a brand new ASUS T100!!!
Sep 13, 2012
77 posts
33 upvotes
MISSISSAUGA
+1
zijin_cheng wrote: I use mint for android. Very useful, I think they have mint for PC as well.
https://www.mint.com/canada/

It is given read only access to your accounts, and it pretty much creates budgets for you based on your first month's spending, then you can tweak it from there.

It gives alerts when overbudget, or when you get charged fees by your bank/credit card.