Automotive

what tax you pay when you buy a used car privately in ontario?

• Last Updated:
  • Jun 15th, 2009 11:29 am
Tags:
None
[OP]
Aug 10, 2008
52 posts
1 upvote
Markham, ON

what tax you pay when you buy a used car privately in ontario?

hi,

i have a real quick question for those who have ever bought a used car privately in ontario.

so, what tax(es) do you pay to the government?
GST? PST? or both?
i heard it was only 1 tax you have to pay, but i have no experience in this.
any help would be appreciated =D

thanks in advance! =]
4 replies
Deal Expert
Mar 23, 2004
20290 posts
1689 upvotes
You must always pay the retail sales tax to the province (PST); on a private sale you do not pay GST (well it's actually more a matter of the fact that the seller doesn't collect it being a private citizen and not a business).
Deal Addict
Jul 12, 2001
2822 posts
53 upvotes
Toronto
to get the car in your name and plated:
pay PST
driveclean test
safety certification
Used vehicle information package
ownership signed by seller
proof of insurance (policy#)

just bought a used car privately last week, so it's fresh in my head.
Hi5exposure Photography
http://www.hi5exposure.com
[OP]
Aug 10, 2008
52 posts
1 upvote
Markham, ON
oh wow..

how do you get a driveclean tested? it's a 2008 car, would it required to be tested as well? i believe driveclean test is.. that emission test, no? and in my knowledge you do that every 5 years (from the year that car built)

and where can you get that safety inspection?

wow i'm asking alot ^^;
thanks for replying though =]
Deal Expert
Mar 23, 2004
20290 posts
1689 upvotes
g3p3nk wrote:
Jun 15th, 2009 3:03 pm
oh wow..

how do you get a driveclean tested? it's a 2008 car, would it required to be tested as well? i believe driveclean test is.. that emission test, no? and in my knowledge you do that every 5 years (from the year that car built)

and where can you get that safety inspection?

wow i'm asking alot ^^;
thanks for replying though =]